This simple dietary change could save your brain

Marc Smith
4 min readApr 10, 2024
Photo by Dan Gold on Unsplash

As I get older, I think about this more and more, and now that I’m in my 50s, looking after my brain (as well as my body) has become even more important to me.

One of my biggest fears is dementia. People are living for longer than ever before, and it’s not unusual for humans to still be knocking about in their 90s and even older.

Sadly, however, this also means that people are more likely to develop dementia.

Dementia is term used to describe several different neurological disorders including Alzheimer’s disease. People are living longer, and this one reason why dementia is on the rise.

Evidence suggests that our diet may play a role protecting the brain from cognitive decline, including the onset of dementia.

Your brain on food

We often associate healthy eating with benefits for our physical well-being, but research is now beginning to show that our diet can also impact cognitive health.

--

--

Marc Smith

Chartered Psychologist, author, learning scientist, lover of literature and libraries; accidental poet. https://linktr.ee/marc1857